Society History

ENETS founding members

The founding members sought to unify neuroendocrine tumor disease research among European medical professionals. The primary aim was to integrate basic and clinical research with teaching and to establish guidelines for the diagnosis and therapy of gastroenteropancreatic neuroendocrine tumors (GEP NETs). In 2004 and 2005, the "Guidelines for the Diagnosis and Treatment of Neuroendocrine Gastrointestinal Tumours" were developed and, in April 2005, were published in the journal Neuroendocrinology. Revised Guidelines followed in 2006 and 2007, along with TNM classifications. In 2012 and 2015, the Guidelines were updated again.


The founding members are (l. to r.): Håkan Ahlman†, Göteborg, Sweden; Bertram Wiedenmann, Berlin, Germany; Ola Nilsson, Göteborg; Barbro Eriksson, Uppsala, Sweden; Kjell Öberg, Uppsala, Sweden; Ursula Plöckinger, Berlin, Germany; Philippe Ruszniewski, Clichy, France; Guido Rindi, Parma, Italy; Martyn Caplin, London, United Kingdom.

Founding members not pictured: Rudolf Arnold, Marburg, Germany; Wouter de Herder, Rotterdam, The Netherlands and Gianfranco Delle Fave, Rome, Italy.


Past ENETS Chairman

2018 - 2020 Professor Dermot O'Toole

2016 - 2018 Professor Massimo Falconi

2014 - 2016 Professor Martyn Caplin

2012 - 2014 Professor Kjell Öberg

2010 - 2012 Professor Philippe Ruszniewski

2008 - 2010 Professor Guido Rindi

2006 - 2008 Professor Wouter W. de Herder

2004 - 2006 Professor Bertram Wiedenmann