ENETS/UEMS NEN Specialist Curriculum

Welcome to the website of the European Board of Neuroendocrine Neoplasia Medicine. We are delighted to have gained your interest and to share with you our vision and goals for the development of patient care and postgraduate medical education in Neuroendocrine Neoplasia Medicine.

Vision, purpose, key objectives


To serve patients, physicians and scientists throughout Europe and beyond by providing postgraduate medical education and training of the highest quality in the specialty of Neuroendocrine Neoplasia (NEN) Medicine.


To stimulate and enhance highest quality patient care by promoting and harmonising professional standards for medical practice, training and continuous postgraduate medical education, and thus clinical excellence.

Key objectives

  • To define, secure and assess the standards of training in NEN Medicine throughout Europe and beyond
  • To provide continuous medical education (CME) and continuous professional development (CPD) in Europe and beyond in conjunction with ENETS.
  • To promote exchange of trainee NEN specialists internationally
  • To motivate medical doctors to engage in the specialist field of NEN
  • To establish a specialty for NEN representing the interdisciplinary group of experts in this field.

Organisational structure

The EBNEN Board comprises....:

  • Professor Andrea FRILLING
  • Professor Andreas PASCHER
  • ...

European Board of NEN Medicine

The European Board of NEN Medicine (EBNEN) has been established by the UEMS and ENETS to guarantee the highest standards of training and care in the field of neuroendocrine neoplasiamedicine in the countries of the European Union and associated partner countries.  

EBNEN has been created to ensure that the training in neuroendocrine neoplasia medicine as well as scientific progress and interaction are raised to the highest possible level. The cooperation between UEMS and ENETS has been sealed with the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU).

Click below to read the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between ENETS and the UEMS.

The routine business of the EBNEN is carried out by an Executive Committee, composed of the two Executice Committee Chairs, the Secretary, the Treasurer, both, the Chairs of the EBNEN Training and Examination Committees,  as well as the Chair, Vice-Chair, Chair Elect of ENETS, and the Chair of the Advisory Board of the ENETS.

The Executive Board and delegates meet twice a year – in parallel to the ENETS Ad Board meetings.

Executive Board

  • Executive Committee Chairs MJC EBNEN (rotating) - Andrea FRILLING, United Kingdom & Andreas PASCHER, Germany
  • EBNEN Secretary - Anna KOUMARIANOU, Greece
  • ENETS Treasurer - Rocio GARCIA-CARBONERO, Spain
  • Chair EBNEN Training Committee - Nicola FAZIO, Italy
  • Chair EBNEN Examination Committee - Anne COUVELARD, France (Scientific Secretary of ENETS)
  • ENETS Chair - Eva TIENSUU JANSON, Sweden
  • ENETS Vice-Chair - Marianne PAVEL, Germany
  • Advisory Board Chair - Christos TOUMPANAKIS, United Kingdom


Delegates from core disciplines:

  • Surgery - Elisabeth NIEVEEN VAN DIJKUM, the Netherlands   
  • Oncology - Marc PEETERS, Belgium
  • Endocrinology - Simona GLASBERG, Israel
  • Radiology - Anders SUNDIN, Sweden
  • Pathology - Aurel PERREN, Switzerland
  • Nuclear medicine - Jaroslaw CWIKLA, Poland
  • Gastroenterology - Anja RINKE, Germany
  • INCA Representative - Mark McDONNELL, Ireland

Delegates of Trainees - to be selected every 2 years


The offspring of the idea to establish a European Board of Neuroendocrine Neoplasia Medicine dates back to 2018, when the Advisory Baord of ENETS explored possibilities to improve training standards for it’s members. As a result, a Specialist Curriculum for neuroendocrine neoplasia medicine has been created.  

Ever since, ENETS has been working closely with the UEMS to establish the European Training Requirements (ETR) for the Multidisciplinary Joint Committee (MJC)/Rare and Undiagnosed Diseases (RUD) for NeuroEndocrine Neoplasias (NEN) defining the standards for trainees, trainers, and training centers.

The ETR was approved by the UEMS Council in July 2020. Subsequently, the UEMS also approved to set up a multidisciplinary joint committee (MJC) for neuroendocrine neoplasia medicine. The aims of this committee are to:

  • Achieve competency in NEN medicine
  • Setting educational standards for training institutions and the maintenance of such standards
  • Identifying minimal requirements for training and publish a European Curriculum
  • Defining rules for accreditation of educational activities
  • Offering a systematic assessment for the recognition of quality, both for the individual and training institutions.

To learn more about the European Training Requirements, please click below.