Structure of the UEMS

The European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS) (en francais L’Union Européenne des Médecins Specialistes - UEMS) was founded in 1958, one year after the European Economic Community (EEC).  It is the official representative body of all Medical Specialists to the European Commission.

The UEMS (European Union of Medical Specialities) represents more than 50 medical disciplines through various bodies and structures. The most important ones are the 43 specialist sections, which represent independently recognised specialties. The UEMS created a European Board as a subgroup, in conjunction with the relevant European societies, with a view to defining European standards of medical education and training. The UEMS also contribute to the work of Multidisciplinary Joint Committees (MJC) which address fields of a multidisciplinary nature. Currently, 43 specialist sections, 15 (+6) MJCs, and over 20 divisions are active.